5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2010 7:48 PM by WSpan01

Acrobat Form - How to capitalize first letters of field words.

WSpan01

I have produced my first Acrobat Form and am setting validation rules on some of the fields.  I want to ensure all names and addresses are recorded with the first letter of each word being a capital and the remain letters being lower case.   While I have found and read quite a few postings, I have no scripting experience and the posts assume a reasonable understanding of scripting, debugging, etc.

Would someone please explain how I may achieve this.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Acrobat Form - How to capitalize first letters of field words.
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Use this code as the custom validation script:

if (event.value!=null && event.value!="") event.value =

event.value.charAt(0).toUpperCase() + event.value.slice(1);

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Acrobat Form - How to capitalize first letters of field words.
            WSpan01 Level 1

Thanks for the tip.  It worked to capitalize the first letter of the first word in the sequence.  I need it to capitalize the first letter of every word in the sequence.  ??

• 3. Re: Acrobat Form - How to capitalize first letters of field words.
              WSpan01 Level 1

Thanks for the tip.  It worked to capitalize the first letter of the first word in the sequence.  I need it to capitalize the first letter of every word in the sequence.  ??

• 4. Re: Acrobat Form - How to capitalize first letters of field words.
                gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You need to fully understand how the data will be entered and what do you want to accomplish. If you want to have a function like Title Case, then you will have to adjust for articles or other words that would not be capitalized. Will the users use a different character other than a space for separating words?