5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2010 2:01 PM by the_wine_snob

Audio cuts out at 11:10?

sportszone123

Hello,

I am new to Premiere Elements and learning as I go.  I am creating my first video, a 15 minute montage of football.  The clips and titles are complete, but when I drag and drop the soundtrack the problem begins.  The soundtrack sounds great right up to the 11:10 mark, when it abruptly quits.  I have cleared the track and redropped it in several times, and always the same result.  I edited the original track to match the video and when I check the file in Adobe Audtion, is perfect.  Any ideas?

• 1. Re: Audio cuts out at 11:10?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

From Audition, did you Save_As a PCM/WAV 48KHz 16-bit file? If not, that would be best. If so, read on.

If you did use the above specs., when you Imported your WAV file into PrE, did you allow the Conforming to complete? There is a little blue progress bar in the lower-right of the GUI, and you MUST allow this to complete 100%, before you do anything with that file. I let all Conforming to complete, before doing anything. If you do not allow this process to complete, you can truncate your resulting file.

Let's talk a bit about Conforming. This is a process that does two things: it produces a CFA file w/ 32-bit floating point for critical editing, and produces a PEK file, which is the Waveform Display. If you start with a PCM/WAV 48KHz 16-bit file, this is quick, based on the Duration and the speed of your computer. If you Import 44.1KHz, or perhaps 12-bit, it takes longer. If you Import something like MPEG, or MP3, it can take quite a while to complete.

I would test by deleting your Audio file from both the Timeline and from the Project Panel. Then, Import that PCM/WAV again, and sit back, until the Conforming has completed. Do not touch the computer. This should not take that long, and patience is a virtue here.