9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2010 2:26 AM by Henrik Eidem Kurka

Progamming export / import of XMP

NickCL

Hi folks,

I'm still very new to this (just bought a book on Lua ) but I want to create something that export the XMP files (so that I can edit them on the road) and import them back to Lightroom. I've been reading the API reference and SDK manual lately, had a feeling that this is not possible but since I've seen some workarounds to achieve certain goals in this forum, thought still worth asking.

So, assuming that this is not possible, here are a few of my ideas:

• Create some keyboard macros to automate the XMP export / import porcess. It'd nice and sweet if it's some simple application I'm dealing with, but with a complex app like Lr there are too many unpredictables and since it's all valuable data maybe this is not a good idea.
      • Create a plug-in that does not thing but generate XMP files using the post-processing part, and then import edited XMP manually. In this case though, I wonder if it's even possible to create a plug-in that will not export photos but only performs post processing.

Would anyone please shed some lights?

Thanks.

Nick.

• 1. Re: Progamming export / import of XMP
          areohbee Level 5

Just hit ctrl/cmd-s and Lightroom will export all your xmp. Then 'Metadata Menu -> Read Meta From Files' will import it into your catalog.

This works for ordinary raws. If your files are dng or jpeg you can extract the xmp using exiftool. in the former case (dng) it will be read back in using 'Metadata Menu -> Read Meta From Files'. I'm not sure about the latter case (jpeg) - probably won't import it.

Or am I not understanding what you are trying to do?

PS - I used to edit the xmp all the time using text-editor macros and grep utilities and little mini-apps I would write... to do things not supported in Lightroom. I mostly do that stuff using SDK3.0 plugins now...

Rob

1 person found this helpful