22 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2010 8:26 AM by abantay

Building a budget desktop PC for CS5 (under $1,700)

dslr_sc Level 1

After reading most of the posts here and elsewhere about building a PC to run Premiere CS5 I decided to take a stab at assembling the components to build my own (keep in mind I have never done this before). Below are the items in my Newegg shopping cart followed by an explanation about why I chose them. Please note the prices are valid as of 8/19/10 and the ones with a * are the prices after rebate so the actual prices may be higher when you read this. I welcome any comments and suggestions:

MOBO: Asus P6X58D-E LGA 1366 - $229.99

I looked at the Gigabyte Mobo but some of the bad reviews really concerned me. The Asus seems to get much better feedback and is only $20 more.

Processor: Intel Core i7-930 2.8GHz 4x256KN L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W - $289.99

This was the easiest item to choose since everyone seems to like it.

Ram: G.Skill PI 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600 - $199.99 - But I'm ordering two (12GB total) for $399.98

I have never heard of G.Skill memory but it seems to be the most popular and highest rated at Newegg.

PSU: Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W - $89.99 *

Corsair seems to be highly rated although not perfect... several customers reported problems or DOA units. I guess there is no PSU maker that you can really count on.

Case: AZZA Solano 1000 ATX Full Tower - $59.99 *

My alternate choice is the Antec 1200 for $159.99 but the Azza gets very good ratings so with that price difference I am leaning towards trying it. By the way, I was hoping to get a mid-tower case but have concerns about my graphics card fitting so I guess I'll go with the full tower. Like Harm said elsewhere "bigger is better".

Video card: MSI N465GTX - $234.99 *