4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 21, 2010 2:58 PM by Flex harUI

Improving responsiveness in component-heavy app

Danielle Church

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Flex development, so this may be an obvious question that I'm missing somewhere.  I'm building an application that has several graphics layers; on one layer, I have simple Sprite components that use vector drawing, and on a higher layer I have a large number of SkinnableComponents that use fairly complex skins.  I need to be able to have the Sprite components interact smoothly with mouse movement, so I'm calling invalidateDisplayList() during every mouseMove event and doing the actual redraw during updateDisplayList(), since I understand that will keep it from trying to perform the redraw with each and every movement.  For the most part it works; dragging the mouse around makes the Sprites animate smoothly.  However, when I try and do the same for Sprites that are behind a great deal of components on the front layer, it gets slow and the animation lags severely behind the mouse movement, to the extent that I can wave my mouse around for half a second or so and then watch the animation slowly retracing my path over the next 5.

I'm a little bit surprised-- jerkiness I'd understand, but this type of lag is what I'd expect if I hadn't decoupled the movement from the draw using the invalidate/update pair.  Is that less reliable than I'd thought?  Is there a different way I should be queueing up redraws when I move the mouse?