6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2010 3:16 AM by stage-hand

speed control

stage-hand Level 1

As you will notice from my question I am new to Premiere Pro! I have noticed that this is a forum of real creative folks and figured someone must have the expertise to answer and or direct me.

It is my understanding that Back in the day of only film, one had a speed control i.e. a way of controlling the actual speed that the actual film travelled through the projector.

Today in digital video, it is my limited experience that when I want to change speed of a video I either loose or gain frames, depending on whether I am increasing or decreasing my speed.

Is there a way in Ppr where I can have it see the frames as just (figuratively speaking) 10,000 frames w/o the preset speed, where one can work with different speeds until one gets the effect they are looking for, w/o creating all those orphan frames?

I am asking in Ppr because I have it! If you know of another software with or w/o the addition of hardware (mac preferred but any system accepted) I am more than open.

All the best

Gary

"It's a pisser trying to create different effects, but it's a trip being creative"

• 1. Re: speed control
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

[I'll give the same answer here that I gave on the other forum where you asked this. If you're going to cross-post questions, please be courteous and cross-post the answers that you get. It would be a shame for people on one forum to waste their time trying to help with something that you've already gotten an answer to somewhere elese.]

Have you looked into time remapping in Premiere Pro or time remapping in After Effects? (The latter provides much more control.)

I'm not sure exactly what you're talking about with regard to orphan frames, but I think that the time-remapping features provide what you're asking for.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: speed control
            Jim_Simon Level 8