18 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2010 12:04 AM by Powered by Design

Moving files to icon at bottom of clip bin to avoid rendering files?

tucson skiman

I was talking to tech support about another issue. The tech guy showed me a cool feature new to cs5. You take hd clips or others in the clip bin and drag them to the page icon at bottom of clip bin (2nd from right of magnifying glass). The clip gets a yellow line on its top and is transformed to fit your timeline so you don't have to render the raw clips. My confusion is that I do this with the first clip and it goes to the time line. But when i do another clip, it erases the previous clip off the timeline and it alone is there. On the top of the timeline are folder tabs with the names of all the clips i have processe this way. If i click on the tabs, the clip appears on the timeline but i can only get one at a time to stay there.  I am new to cs5 and am trying to figure this out. Any help is appreciated.. thanks! Tucson Skiman

• 1. Re: Moving files to icon at bottom of clip bin to avoid rendering files?
          Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

This new feature is to help you set up the settings for your sequence. Especially if you do not know which settings in the New Sequence Tab to choose from.

You do this only once with one clip from the bin, the clips name determines the name of the sequence but you can alter that.

When the sequence is set up you drag the rest of your clips from the Project Window or Source Window into the timeline.

• 2. Re: Moving files to icon at bottom of clip bin to avoid rendering files?
            jeremy d. Level 3

You're creating new timelines everytime you do that, not replacing footage; all of those tabs are separate timelines.

Heed Ann's advice.