6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2010 5:56 PM by FuzzyMonkeyMan

Raster export options..

FuzzyMonkeyMan

Hi-

I am a programmer working with artists using After Effects (+Mocha) and attempting to get clean rotoscope masks in some type of image format.

The rasterized image are color-coded so each shape has a unique color, this is mostly working as expected.

I attached some extreme closeup shots of the image pixels after export to illustrate the problems, I believe there may be a simple solution to this using the right export/raster options..

---------------------------------------------

The Minor Problem:

The problem is that the pixels between shapes are blended together, so instead of (example) 5 unique colors for 5 shapes in the image, the output image might have hundreds of "in-between" colors where the pixels are blended. This is a natural anti-aliasing that I would like to disable, but the artists do not know of any way to do this in AE..

It's not a deal-breaker, this can be worked around to some extent by  (a) identifying the dominant/legitimate unique colors and filtering out  the rest to the nearest match.

rasterissues2.jpg

A Bigger Problem:

The real problem comes in when pixels that are well within the borders between shapes have minor differences, such as 2 adjacent pixels that are off by a single RGB value.

I made an image for the artists to illustrate the problem:

rasterissues.jpg

These can also be filtered out, but that tends to destroy legitimate detail. There is no single automated solution that resolves every pixel perfectly without breaking others (especially when the selected "unique" colors are very close)..

The Goal:

I really just need a per-pixel mapping of which pixel goes with which outline. I assumed that the color-coded layermasks would be the most portable solution for this type of information.

The Solution: