5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2010 6:17 AM by [Jongware]

Grep, Italicise Quotes

FlippinDesigner Level 1

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to the Grep stuff, although it seems nice and logical.

I'm trying to italicise the contents of quotes within my document (am happy for the quotes to also be made italic, so no worries about being too clever trying to exclude them)

The problem comes when i use:

".+"

This makes all words italic even if they are between two sets of quotes i.e.

"Text in quote"  Text outside Quote "Text in Second Quote" Text outside Quote "Text in Third Quote"

I'm not sure how to get from that, to the following which does not italicise the text outside the quotes.  I'm assuming that i need to search for an odd number of quotes from the start of the paragraph and then only count text between that quote and the next.  Or perhaps there is a better way.

"Text in quote"  Text outside Quote "Text in Second Quote" Text outside Quote "Text in Third Quote"

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers

• 1. Re: Grep, Italicise Quotes
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

The problem here is that by default GREP is GREEDY. When given the chance, the operators + and * try to grab as much as they can (still without violating the other constraints you put in the expression, of course).

In your case

".+"

perfectly matches the entire string, from the start all the way up to the end ... But you can force GREP to use the shortest possible match by adding a single "?" after the repeat-expression. This ought to work for you:

".+?"

• 2. Re: Grep, Italicise Quotes
            I'm trying to italicise the contents of quotes within my document (am happy for the quotes to also be made italic, so no worries about being too clever trying to exclude them)

That's actually fairly easy -- apart from one tiny little issue