14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2010 6:51 PM by Steve Grisetti

Premiere Elements 8 video looks bad when editing

BoiseCalvin

Hi -

I'm brand new to Premiere Elements 8 - in fact just installed it on an HP/Compaq 6530b laptop running Windows Vista (32 bit).  Initially, I tried to edit a Flip video (MPG4) and also a Flip video that I converted to AVI.  I also have a new Canon Vixia HF M31; regardless of what video I use, the video editing window looks horrible.  There's a "double image" - the one on top is heavy green and there's another "double image" of the video below it that looks better but is below the green-shaded video (see inserted image below).  I'm wondering if it's an issue with the laptop, especially since multiple video formats have the same problem.  Where do I begin to resolve this?

NOTE: I've taken this same video and it looks fine with Windows Movie Maker (at least the MPG4 - haven't tried the Vixia .MTS video yet as I'm guessing it won't work with Movie Maker).

Thanks,

Calvin
      Premiere.jpg

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 8 video looks bad when editing
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

Please see the links in this THREAD. For most, this is caused by an obsolete video driver.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 8 video looks bad when editing
            nealeh Level 5

If not the video driver check your QuickTime version (v7.6.7 at time of writing). If it's out of date, update it.

Even if you have no intention of using QuickTime as a player, PRE depends on it for many things and it must be installed.

Cheers,
            --
            Neale
            Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 3. Re: Premiere Elements 8 video looks bad when editing
              BoiseCalvin Level 1