3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2010 9:33 AM by dfranzen_adobe

Tech questions for an Adobe DNG engineer

chuckfrance

Hi,

I'm a staff photographer at a university here in the U.S. and have our photo staff is having a spirited discussion concerning the good and bad of DNG.

First off I have been using DNG for a few years now as part of my workflow. In my freelance business and now at my "day job". BTW...I choose not to embed the orginal RAW file...I just the DNG as my RAW.

Previously before I got here at my job we were a Nikon only shop and the workflow consisted of RAW editing in Nikon CaputreNX, Photoshop and Photo Mechanic (for metadata tagging).

I say that there is no discerable difference in an original NEF and a converted DNG. Others agrue that there is a "quality" difference in using a DNG opposed to the NEF.

I understand all the benefits of using DNG....stanards, best practices....many professional organizations using DNG...some camera mfgs using DNG etc. but can someone at Adobe technically explain to me (I'm an ex software test engineer and all around tech guy for 10 years) how the conversion process works and what if ANY changes in the original file occur.

Many thanks in advance.

Regards,

Chuck

• 1. Re: Tech questions for an Adobe DNG engineer
          JimHess-DIrcbP Level 3

I don't know if this is going to give you everything you want.  But here is the published DNG specification:

http://www.adobe.com/products/dng/pdfs/dng_spec.pdf

Sorry, the link doesn't work.  But that is where you can find it.

• 2. Re: Tech questions for an Adobe DNG engineer
            JimHess-DIrcbP Level 3

Let's try a different link.  If you scroll down this page, you will find references to several PDF files that might provide you with some of the information you are looking for.

http://www.adobe.com/products/dng/

• 3. Re: Tech questions for an Adobe DNG engineer
              dfranzen_adobe Level 3

Hi Chuck,

I can try to answer some of your basic questions.