6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2010 7:49 AM by the_wine_snob

PE 8 Continually crashing

IAN JULIAN Level 1

When I attempt to edit  Premiers Elements it continually crashes.  Being a wedding photographer, I also add some video clips as a bonus.  For example, I am trying to do a video show with just transitions, and a couple of titles, and although there are many clips, they only total about 9 minutes.

Each wedding, involves saving a few transitions, then the inevitable crash occurs.  It also happens if I render, so now I leave that until the end.

I use a Nikon D90 camera which takes HD.  I import the clips from Organizer, and use smartfix.

• 1. Re: PE 8 Continually crashing
          IAN JULIAN Level 1

By the way, I do have a powerful computer with 8 gb of Ram, and never have any problems with other programmes, such as Photoshop.

• 2. Re: PE 8 Continually crashing
            the_wine_snob Level 9

First, with the Nikon Video, you will need a good MJPEG CODEC installed. Do not know if one ships with the Nikon, or not. It could be installed with Nikon's utilities, the driver, or be separate on the DVD. If you do not have the one from Nikon, you can get either the Morgan, or the MainConcept MJPEG CODEC.

Now, for stills, you will want to do all Scaling in PS, before you Import them into a PrE Project. Depending on exactly what you need to do, say animating Pans & Zooms, you can go a little bit larger, than the Project Preset, but too large, and you will get crashes. This ARTICLE will give you tips. Also, besides making things MUCH more stable, the quality of the stills will actually be improved. This is one case, where bigger is not better.

As for the system, please be aware that video editing is MUCH more intensive, than even doing large HDR editing in PS.

Also, having other programs and processes loaded can very negatively impact the operations of a video editor. This ARTICLE will give you tips on setting up your computer for an editing session.