10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2010 3:21 PM by the_wine_snob

How to change settings in Pre 8

americus73

I'm a student and competely unfamiliar with Premiere elements 8. My assignment calls for specific settings such as adjusting video frame size to 240x180 and all I see are presets that I can't change! Can these setting be changed?? What do I need to do?? Thanks for any help you can offer!!

• 1. Re: How to change settings in Pre 8
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

If you're talking about changing the project settings to 240x180, that's not available in Premiere Elements. But the project settings should be based on your source video -- not your final output.

What kind of camcorder is your video coming from? That will determine which project settings you use.

You can output at virtually any frame size and in most major formats. Go to Share/Personal Computer and you'll see many of the output formats. If you select, say, WMV or MOV (you didn't say which you need) and click the Advanced button, you'll find these options.

• 2. Re: How to change settings in Pre 8
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Exactly as Steve says: the source footage determines the Project Preset. The output needs determine the Share/Export settings. At first, this is a bit counter-intuitive. Most people begin thinking in terms of the output, and that does not come into play, until one has done the editing.

It is that editing that must be considered first, and that is why one matches their Project Preset to their source footage 100% - so that they can edit without any problems. When done, THEN one considers the output necessary. Also, this allows one many choices of output from the single, edited Timeline. In some cases, I might have a DVD, FLV (for Web) and WMV (for streaming delivery), from the same Timeline. If one set things up for the output (if you could), it would mean editing 3 times, for 3 different output schemes.