4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 29, 2010 9:06 AM by Martin GT40

Problems with imported audio into PE4

Martin GT40

Hi,

I have been using Premiere Elements 4 for a couple of years now without any real issues, including importing soundtracks into my projects.  In my latest project, I have imported 2 audio files from Haircut 100 and the Black Eyed Peas (although that's probably not relevant!) .  These 2 files play fine in itunes but when I import them into the project, they stutter on playback.  Here are some facts that might be helpful from where I have tried different things out already after looking at the forums:

1. The audio files both have .m4a as file extentions which I believe is a Quicktime Movie. The source audio format form clip properties shows as 44100 Hz - 16 bit - Stereo

2.  The project audio format is 48000 Hz - 32 bit floating point stereo

3.  The original video/audio input from my camera (Canon HV20) was in high definition video

4.  There are no red lines showing in the timeline under the soundtrack section where the imported files are or in the audio section in respect of the imported video footage from my camera

5.  The clips stutter in PE4 even before they are dragged and dropped into the timeline i.e. if you open them from the Project or Organiser sections

6.  I have pulled in other audio files into the project that are .m4a and they seem to work ok

7. I have tried muting the audio on the original video to see if that was clashing with the added soundtrack but that made no difference

Can anyone shed some light on what I am doing wrong?

Many thanks

Martin

• 1. Re: Problems with imported audio into PE4
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

iTunes music used to have software built into it that would lock it out from use in a video editing project. I think Apple has relaxed that somewhat -- but it still may not be completely compatible in its native format.