5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2010 8:05 AM by richardELeach

Basic Workflow Question

richardELeach Level 1

Hi All-

I'd like to build an AE presentation that looks like you're walking/driving down the road and images/photos/text appear on billboards as you walk/drive by.

I'll start as simple as possible, but ultimately would like to produce something that I think is a fairly common effect with depth, moving through or past objects in 3d space, adding and moving cameras, etc.

Does this effect/presentation type go by a certain name or nomenclature? I'm not having much luck finding tutorials online so I'm sure I'm not searching for the right things.

I'm running After Effects CS5, Flash CS5 (if needed) and Zaxwerks ProAnimator. I'm a relative nOOb in real world implementation but have been through many hours of training. If another product(s) would make this easier I'd welcome that information as well.

Thanks in advance,

Rich

• 1. Re: Basic Workflow Question
          richardELeach Level 1

... ok, so after some talking around it sounds like what I'm looking to do can be accomplished entirely in After Effects, simply by using cameras, maybe some lighting and tracking....

Does anyone have any good resources for me to understand cameras, lighting and tracking?  I like lynda.com but it stops short in actually how to use cameras in this fashion, and only touches on lighting.... I don't mind paying for some good learning resources either!

Thanks in advance,

Rich

• 2. Re: Basic Workflow Question
            bogiesan-gyyClL Level 3

Your description does not include a need for tracking.

Understanding AE's limited 3D world is not easy. You chose a resource, commit 40-80 hours, and get to work.