7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2010 5:52 AM by osgood_

setting up layers in dwcs3 using css

new dreamweaver Level 1

I am trying to set-up layers in dreamweaver cs3 using css. I am attaching what I want it to look like. I have down how to do the nav bar (dark blue vertical box) down from the picture, but i cannot figure out the coding for putting the picture over the blue bar that goes horizontal along the screen. I have played with z values and nothing seems to work the blue bar goes over the top of the vertical nav bar.

As always any advice is greatly appreciated.

layering image.jpg

• 1. Re: setting up layers in dwcs3 using css
          MurraySummers Level 8

Layers are not a layout tool.  Why not show us your whole layout design, so we can make some alternate suggestions?

• 2. Re: setting up layers in dwcs3 using css
            new dreamweaver Level 1

This is what I have so far. I am just beginning the actual coding based off the picture. Is there any way to give me ideas at this point?

Thank you.

• 3. Re: setting up layers in dwcs3 using css
              MurraySummers Level 8

The picture is pretty vague as is your description.  But I can say with absolute certainty that layers would not be required.

• 4. Re: setting up layers in dwcs3 using css
                new dreamweaver Level 1

ok, I was using the term layers just as a descriptive to what I am trying to accomplish. The picture box needs to go over the light blue box. The nav bar, dark blue box, also needs to go over the light blue box. Then I want a box inside the dark blue vertical box to overlap the nav bar (dark blue box) and the white text box. Clear as mud I am sure. I know there is an easier way to do this, but I just am not figuring it out. Thanks again for any help.

• 5. Re: setting up layers in dwcs3 using css
                  MurraySummers Level 8