3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2010 7:02 AM by carl schooff

Please convince me that animating in Flash doesn't suck.

donnykarabotsos

I'm a freelance animator coming from 3DS MAX and Maya, trying to do some flash (cs4) animations because I'm desperate for work.

There are things that bug me about animating in flash. I'm going to list them out, and if you have an answer or solution please reply and help me out.

To give a frame of reference, I am tasked with animating an intricate snake-like creature, made of several dozen separate pieces (symbols? objects?). All I am allowed to do is move, rotate, and scale them using "classic tween", I can't mess with the library, move pivots, or rearrange layers. I know that bones are in flash now, and would help with a lot of my frustrations, but the client does not want it to be rigged with bones for whatever reason. (I'm guessing importing into their old engine tech does not jive).

Ok. Here are my gripes:

1: I can't explain this, but the whole entire way flash works is completely alien to me coming from 3D animation. The way the key frames and timeline works is like trying to pilot an alien ship in some other dimension where nothing makes logical productive sense.

2: If I scrub the timeline to check movement, it unselects my objects, so I have to reselect them EVERY TIME?? This wastes soooo much time and is incredibly tedious.

3: Can I jump forward/back between keyed frames instead of just using < and > to go through each frame?

4: Playback is slow. What should be 30 fps plays back at 17 fps or less. Can I set it to "low quality" in flash itself..? It does not need to have anti aliased sprites while I'm animating.

4a: Why doesn't it skip frames instead of play in slow mo? At least then I could get timing down.

5: Why can't I make a simple heirarchy of objects? I have to animate a neck made of 10 pieces (and another neck, and 2 tails).