9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2007 2:13 PM by zagods

i am very new to web design

jeannette_villarreal
      Hi, this is a little embarrassing because it's so basic, but what is the best way to start the layout for your design? I don't really know how to use CSS so I am starting out with general tables. I want to insert a .swf navigation bar up top (center) and a panel on the left side for other links = the very basic upside-down L.
      I began with a table set for 100%, then nested another table inside. I began nesting tables within that nested table but it turned into a big mess where things became misaligned the more content i inserted.
      Any help would be appreciated!
      J.
        • 1. Re: i am very new to web design
          bregent Most Valuable Participant
          Jeanette, can you provide a sample of what you want the site to look like? Using tables for layout is usually easy for the beginner than CSS, but can get out of hand if you have to nest too deep. Also, using swf navigation is usually not a good idea for a bunch of reasons.
          • 2. Re: i am very new to web design
            Level 7
            The best way to start is with Notepad/Text Edit and a basic book on HTML.
            Don't even think of touching DW until you understand as much as you can
            tolerate about page structure and the HTML tags involved. Move to the same
            kind of book on CSS. Then you will be ready for DW....

--
            Murray --- ICQ 71997575
            Adobe Community Expert
            (If you *MUST* email me, don't LAUGH when you do so!)
            ==================
            http://www.dreamweavermx-templates.com - Template Triage!
            http://www.projectseven.com/go - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
            http://www.dwfaq.com - DW FAQs, Tutorials & Resources
            http://www.macromedia.com/support/search/ - Macromedia (MM) Technotes
            ==================