14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2010 4:41 PM by Ned Murphy

Dynamic text spacing problems

daymonic Level 1

Hi guys,

I've been following an xml tutorial webdesign tutorial, as I'm pretty new to the whole coding side of things, I've copied their code into my own design, which has been going fine up until this point.

In the tutorials the dynamic menus were alligned vertically, in my site I want them to run horizontally, well I  managed to suss out how to realign them, the problem is that the spacing between each button is set according to the end of each (invisible) button.

This makes each gap a different size and makes the layout look really clunky.

I'm wondering if theres a line of code I can insert, which defines the size of each button according to the size of the text, or alternately, that starts the spacing from the end of the text rather than the button.

dont know if it helps, but here is the code I am currently using

function SS_createButtons() {

_root.btn_projects_main._visible = 0;

btn_xPos = _root.btn_projects_main._x;

btn_yPos = _root.btn_projects_main._y;

btn_xDistance = 100;

btn_yDistance = 50;

btn_numOfRows = 1;

btn_yMax = btn_yPos + ((btn_numOfRows - 1) * btn_yDistance);

for (count = 0; count < _root.projectCount; count++) {

duplicateMovieClip(_root.btn_projects_main, "btn_projects" + count, count);

_root["btn_projects" + count]._x = btn_xPos;

_root["btn_projects" + count]._y = btn_yPos;

_root["btn_projects" + count].text = namesArray[count];

if(btn_yPos == btn_yMax){

btn_xPos = btn_xPos + btn_xDistance;

} else {

btn_yPos = btn_yPos + btn_yDistance;

}

}

SS_load_project(0);

tellTarget(_root.btn_projects0){

gotoAndPlay(3);

}

_root.curButton = "0";

}

any help/ideas would be massively appreciated

• 1. Re: Dynamic text spacing problems
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP