5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 6, 2010 1:15 PM by the_wine_snob

Why is video all choppy?

imsam67

Hi,

I'm new to video editing and Premiere Elements. I'm also using the trial version to see if I like the app.

I shot an HD video on my Canon Vixia HF200. I then downloaded the video on to my computer. When I watch the video on my computer, it looks fine. However, when I place the video into a new project in PE8, it's all choppy which makes editing very difficult.

My hardware specs are:

Intel i7 2.93 GHz CPU

12 GB Memory

ATI Radeon HD4800 Video Card w/ 512MB memory

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

Any idea what's causing this?

• 1. Re: Why is video all choppy?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

What is the Project Preset that you chose?

When you have your Clips on the Timeline, is there a red line above them?

What happens, if you press Enter, to Render the Timeline for smoothest playback?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Why is video all choppy?
            imsam67 Level 1

Hi,

The editing mode is HDV 720p and yes, there's a red line above the timeline. Left part is green and that part seems to play smoothly. Does it mean, PE is rendering the media? Is there a way to prevent it from rendering so that it play smoothly during edit?

I didn't know about hitting enter. Just did it, now it's rendering it. Looks like it'll take some 20 mins. to render my video. Does this mean, it'll pre-render the media so that I can work on it smoothly?

• 3. Re: Why is video all choppy?
              the_wine_snob Level 9

As of PrE 8, Background Render was added. As this is such a resource hog, most users turn that OFF.