5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2010 3:37 PM by FunnyLady18

How do I tweek the quality of an avi that I've shared?

FunnyLady18

I made a 4 minute video, and the end result is a ridiculously large file. I tried messing with the quality of the avi setting, but it won't let me change anything. I want to know how to convert an 873 MB video into something closer to 40 MB. I am very new to this program and video editing in general, so I apologize if the answer to this question is absurdly simple. Thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I tweek the quality of an avi that I've shared?
          nealeh Level 5

I think you must be sharing in DV-AVI format (approx 10-13GB per hour). Try using the MPEG format - this will compress to DVD quality.

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I tweek the quality of an avi that I've shared?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

As I say in my books, what you Share it as depends on WHERE you plan to share this file, FunnyGirl.

As Neale says, to share it on a disc, you want to create a DVD.

To share it online,  you'll most likely want to output a WMV or MOV.

There are also Share options in Premiere Elements for creating files for portable devices, like phones and iPods.

But if you plan to use the clip as part of another video or you plan to edit it later, an AVI is the best format to store it as.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: How do I tweek the quality of an avi that I've shared?
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.