3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2010 10:43 AM by blackburn1111

video quality issues

blackburn1111

First let me apologize ahead of time because I am VERY new to this area.  I am looking for a simple solution to a very specific use.

I am a teacher trying to make online video tutorials.  I used the trial version of camtasia to make this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJb3uGGzKhQ

I was trying to find a cheaper way to make these videos and was pleased with the screen capture quality of Camstudio.

However, when I capture the video using camstudio and then bring it into premiere elements 8 and then share.... I am getting very choppy video.  The text that I write isnt smooth but skips.  I use the same raw video in camtasia or windows movie maker and it looks smooth.

I have tried many video output format in elements 8.  Some high res formats, some very small formats and I consistantly get the same choppy video.  I would really like to get this figured out since I have already paid for the full version of premiere elements 8 and it seems like a very simple use for this software.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: video quality issues
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

For what it's worth, I think your YouTube video looks very good -- and I'm not sure you're going to improve on it much.

The challenge with working with video from these screen capture programs is that they tend to work with codecs that aren't totally compatible with Premiere Elements, so you''re always going to get something of a hybrid result. Also, the program you're using (Camstudio in your case) probably isn't capturing at a full 30 frames per second, which could also be giving you some jumpiness. So first go to Camstudio's preferences and up the fps as much as possible.