4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2010 7:57 AM by the_wine_snob

Having problems with rendering clipls

portacard

I am new to Premier elements, and am having problems with my clips needing frequent rendering.  Clips that have been rendered go from green (line) to red when a transition is added or if it is trimmed and must be rendered again.  Also rendering seems to take a very long time, sometimes going fast, sometimes going a frame per second or slower.  One possible problem is that I am mixing clips from two different cameras, one a HD and the other a standard def camera. I don't know if this is a factor or not.

• 1. Re: Having problems with rendering clipls
          nealeh Level 5
          • If your clips are initially importing with a red line your project preset may be wrong - what preset are you using?
          • After applying transitions or effects it is normal for those segments to go red line.
          • It doesn't help to use two different types of video in one project. What is your final output intent - DVD or BluRay? If DVD then it would be better to convert your HD material to DV-AVI. See the Gspot link below - analyse both types of clip you are using and post the screen images here.

Some basics:

• Install all Windows Updates.

• Install latest version of Apple QuickTime (v7.6.7 at time of writing). Even if you don't use QuickTime, PRE relies heavily on it.

• Install most recent graphics and sound drivers from the manufacturers web sites.
          • Run Disk Cleanup.
          • Run Defragmenter.
          • Temporarily disable any anti-virus realtime scanning.
          • Use the GSpot Codec Information Utility to analyse the file and post screen image.
          • Post back here with the necessary information described here: Got a Problem? How to Get   Started

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Having problems with rendering clipls