6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2010 4:00 AM by Malikiel

cast between types

Malikiel

Hi

I am new to pixel bender. I am a CG artist with a very little developper background...

I understand pixel bender language is strongly typed. OK fine....

But i would like to understand the difference between

(for instance)

dst.a  = float(0.0);

and

dst.a = pixel1(0.0);

Am i free to write both syntaxes. Indeed both run without exceptions in my very simple sample script.

Regarding memory usage or efficiency, what is the true difference between theses two types

furthermore

i understand pixel4 is a kind of convention for output. Like image4 for input. Ok Fine.

But pixel4(0.0) == float4(0.0); returns true

so, i would like to understand the true meanings of theses types to build effectives pixel bender fragments

I am sorry but english is not my native bytecode

hope you understand what i mean

thanks for clues

MLK

++

• 1. Re: cast between types
          Malikiel Level 1

in fact, i don't understand the true difference between pixel and float values..

So why pixel bender makes differences between theses types ?

If pixel bender is strongly typed, i am sure there is a big difference. But without real time debugger, it is pretty difficult for me to see it.

Maybe pixel are unsigned ?

^^

MLK

• 2. Re: cast between types
            Royi A Level 1

At the beginning I thought pixel type means always casting into [0 1] while float isn't clipped.

Yet, if you look for it on the forum, There is no difference between pixel and float in PB at the moment.

They had ideas at the beginning how pixel should be different, however they never made it.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: cast between types
              Malikiel Level 1

Thanks Royi A

So i will use pixel values when it makes sense for anyone who read my code.

And i will use float values for arithmetics purposes.

Thanks for your reply. really ^^ I was not sure....