15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 20, 2010 6:22 PM by Cowboy22

Timecode and mulit-camera shoot

Cowboy22 Level 1

I am new to Premiere Pro CS5. I want to do a two camera shoot and I thought the timecode would allow to sync both cameras. But it appears that the clip shows beginning at zero and does not actually show time or date. So if cameras were started at different times this is of no value for sync. I am going to do a two camera shoot at our church for a concert of piano and organ. One would be wide shots and the other closeups.

Would I have to start both cameras at the same time and let them run for the entire concert in order to be able to sync?

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

• 1. Re: Timecode and mulit-camera shoot
          Stan Jones Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I am new to Premiere Pro CS5. I want to do a two camera shoot and I thought the timecode would allow to sync both cameras. But it appears that the clip shows beginning at zero and does not actually show time or date.

You can get that code for the first clip for each camera and place a marker in that clip.  But the better way is to use an external event (sound or visual) and use that as the mark.  Then you line the markers up in the multicam source sequence.

Would I have to start both cameras at the same time and let them run for the entire concert in order to be able to sync?

Is it even truly possible to start both cameras at the exact instance?  The easiest way is to run both cameras throughout the event, and to sync once.  Every time either camera stops, you must sync again.

• 2. Re: Timecode and mulit-camera shoot
            Stephen Pickering122 Level 1