8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2010 2:46 PM by Todd_Kopriva

Problem with Avi-import (lots of information added)

Westrabua

Hello Adobe-forum-community,

short story about me:
      Im kinda new to the whole video-editing-world. I started out some months ago with Vegas Movie studio and fell in love with creating my own videos somehow (especially game-montages atm). Recently I realized that my lowbudget-movie-studio lacks some features I would like to add to my montages (masking, 3D-techniques, ...). I looked around on the web and realized that I could get the whole Adobe package for an amount of money that I could afford (student-pack).
      So I decided to try out the Premiere-Pro-CS5-trial, before I actually buy the production-premium-student-pack with Premiere CS5, AfterEffects CS5, etc.

Now my problem:
      I cant get my avi-files to work in Premiere.
      Before the flaming starts, I have to say that I already informed myself about this issue in this forum and things like "avi is just a container, doesnt tell anything,..." (thanks to Bill´s article) arent new to me by now.

I will now try to give you as much information about the "avi"-file as I can, to make it easier for you to help me:
      As I said earlier, I do game-montages atm. So I usually start out with recording some gameplay with a programm called "PlayClaw" (fraps-alternative; works much better imo). I record at fullscreen with 60 fps and something called "light-compression" (its neccesary, cause otherwise I would get 7,5 GB data each minute; it also gives the best preformance while gaming).
      After that I usually look through my clips with Virtualdub, just to get rid off useless footage. All I do with Virtualdub is selecting the "good" parts of the gameplay and save it once again as avi with the option "direct stream copy" for audio and video, so that the format and the quality stays the same. After that I can delete the big files to get back some space on my harddisk.