4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2007 8:29 AM by Wayne_1977

Importing a Project into Eclipse

Wayne_1977
      Hi Folks,

My collegue just zipped up a flex project and emailed it to me. I'm trying to get it set up in my own Eclipse/FlexBuilder, and could sure use a little guidance, since I'm new to all this.

First, shall I create a new Eclipse workspace for this project?
      Then what? The File | Import function demands that I create a "New Project". But if I create a flex project, it creates a whole bunch of files that will just be over-written when I unzip the *real* project. Which will probably corrupt somebody's view of the project.
      If, instead, I create a new project, and Import into that, well, what sort of project should I create?
      And where do I point my workspace directory? Anywhere seems to do, but should it point to the place where I unzip the real project files?

And finally, is there some documentation that covers these basic mechanics? This just seems far far far more complicated than it needs to be, and a simple explanation of how to set up new and exlisting Eclipse/Flex projects would be a great help.

Thanks,

ws

p.s. If anyone has a Team Server plugin for Eclipse, please let me know. That too would be a great help!
        • 1. Importing a Project into Eclipse
          connectricity
          Create a new flex project and point the root folder for that project to your unzipped project`s folder.

I'm not sure where to point you for documentation.
          • 2. Re: Importing a Project into Eclipse
            Wayne_1977 Level 1
            Thanks for the reply!

I tried creating a New Flex Project, and pointing the root at my unzipped on-disk project. The directory I'm pointing it to contains a .project and a .flexProperties file, along with many others, and a bunch of subdirectories.

When I click the "Validate" button, I get an error that says: Invalid root. A config file must exist in WEB-INF/flex.