5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2010 4:48 PM by Ned Murphy

Newbie Q: after a blank keyframe...

Mike_Abbott Adobe Community Professional

Complete newbie question - to which I can't find the answer in the manual...

On a frame by frame based animation I have an object that I want to start out hidden. So I create a series of blank keyframes to start (say frames 1 to 10). How do I make my object visible at frame 11 and onwards? (there is no previous visible keyframe to copy and paste - as they are all blank).

Thanks,

Mike A.

• 1. Re: Newbie Q: after a blank keyframe...
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your description/intent is a little unclear.  One way is to just have your object start at frame 11. I am not sure what you are saying about having a bunch of blank keyframes, but if that is true, you don't need keyframes for that, just plain ole frames following one blank keyframe is all you need.

If you truly want it to exist but also want it hidden for the first 10 frames, then you neeed to make it a movieclip symbol and assign it an instance name so that you can tell it to be visible or not wherever needed along the timeline.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Newbie Q: after a blank keyframe...

Sorry - bad terminology on my part. I've re-phrased the situation below:

TimeLine.jpg

I've got a series of layers from an imported photoshop file. One of those layers starts off invisible in the timeline - frame 1 has a blank keyframe, frames 2 through 20 are white (blank frames).

I want the layer to be visible from frame 21.  What do I do to make it visible?

Thanks,

Mike A.

Message was edited by: Mike_Abbott - to add image.

• 3. Re: Newbie Q: after a blank keyframe...
              Rothrock Level 5

The white frames indicate that there is no content on that layer. So I'm not sure of the difference of "nothing" being visible or invisible....