4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2007 3:06 PM by _eyesonly

Which language to pursue? C++, Java, Active X??

kmdguy
      Hi all,

I'm a intermedia/expert lingo programmer and have worked with lingo for 10 years.

However, I would like to write a program for my own use that extracts real time financial data from my broker. My broker provides an API to get at their data and "talk" to their computers. They offer C++ Socket, Java Socket, DDI, and Active X APIs for use in getting their data and also for initiating commands to their servers. I would really like to write my program using Director Lingo since that is what my expertise is in.

However, I'm not too familiar with C++, Java Sockets, DDI or Active X within Director and was looking for some feedback about the best method to approach for this within Director. Does anyone have any opinions which road I should focus on such as C++ within Director, or Java Socket within Director or Active X? I'm going to have to experiment and learn how to get Director to talk with any of these choices but I thought I better try to get some feedback as to which choice might provide the best way within Director as well as which might be the easiest to work with in terms of coding.

I'm open to purchasing any plug ins necessary to help out as well.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
      Dan
        • 1. Re: Which language to pursue? C++, Java, Active X??
          Level 7
          Director has an ActiveX xtra already, and there is the
          ActiveCompanionSet which also allows communication with ActiveX sprites.
          There is Glu32 which allows communication with dll files (C++, ...) and
          INM have/had an xtra called Moka which allows communication with Java
          (though I haven't used it so can't comment as to its functionality)
          • 2. Re: Which language to pursue? C++, Java, Active X??
            Level 7
            In addition to Seans comment, Adobe has an XDK for ... Xtra Development