5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2010 12:16 AM by areohbee

How do you Display a Scaled Photo in a Dialog?

DyeHarder

I'll admit I'm new to scripting in Lua/Lightroom and apologize if this is a trivial question.

I'm attempting to write a plug-in to assist in a workflow for scanned images.

The idea is to scan in the images and then use the plug-in to help process them

efficiently by selecting options that I'll write specific code for.

The plug-in will access a set of images selected from the Libraby module.

In order for the plug-in to work effectively I need to display a preview/thumbnail

of the image currently being processed in the plug-in's dialog box. I have successfully

used viewFactory:picture to display the image, but it displays the image at full resolution

which is way to big.

Is there a way to use viewFactory:picture and scale the image down to a reasonable size?

Is there a way to access the lower resolution preview images that already exist in Lightroom?

Is there a way to do this that I am missing?

I'm currently using Lightroom 2.5. The dialog I'm attempting to design would look a lot like

the one provided in the Library module in Metadata -> Edit Capture Time, with my own

workflow logic options.

Many thanks to anyone who can point me in the right direction.

• 1. Re: How do you Display a Scaled Photo in a Dialog?
          areohbee Level 5

DyeHarder,

I too would love to know how to tap into the Lightroom preview system to pull out already rendered images, but so far I haven't figured it out nor heard from anyone who has.

In the mean time, one can effect which image is displayed in the lightroom navigator / thumbnails simply be selecting it using catalog:setSelectedPhotos( mostSelected, others ).

This is a nice little function - may even be better than displaying a thumbnail in your plugin(?)