6 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2014 5:34 PM by DuckOfDeath

Simplified Field Notation for If/Then

Tim_renfrow

I was wondering if there is a simplified field notation for the following:

If Field "A" equals "650", then Field "B" is populated "7.50"

I am new to this and unfortunately, I'm trying to resolve it as simple as possible.

• 1. Re: Simplified Field Notation for If/Then
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can't enter conditional statements in the simplified field notation.

However, you can do it with a script.

So if this is field B's custom calculation script, enter this:

if (this.getField("A").value=="650") event.value = "7.50";

• 2. Re: Simplified Field Notation for If/Then
            DuckOfDeath

I'm new to scripting.  This example helped me get what I wanted but if the box is checked and then unchecked, the event value doesn't go back to default.  Is there a way to do that?  Here is the calculation script I have so far:

if(this.getField("Observedtotal2").value=="1")event.value="20";if(this.getField("Observedt otal3").value=="1")event.value="30";

• 3. Re: Simplified Field Notation for If/Then
              gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Have you opened the JavaScript console to see if there are any errors?

Are you sure your field names are correct?

function GetField(cName) {
              // get the field object for field cName;
              var oField = this.getField(cName);
              if(oField == null) app.alert("Error accessing field named " + cName);
              return oField;
              }

var Total12 = GetField("Observedtotal2");
              var Total13 = GetField("Observedt otal3");

if(Total12.value == "1")event.value="20";
              if(Total13.value == "1")event.value="30";
              if(Total12.value == "1" && Total13.vlaue == "1") app.alert("Check the results for observations");

• 4. Re: Simplified Field Notation for If/Then
                DuckOfDeath Level 1