11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 22, 2010 10:53 PM by adobe-admin

Help with assignment- buttons that control movie clips

dneck184

I am pretty new to flash and my professor gave us an assignment with little help or tutorials.

He wants us to create a SWF that features a house and it's front yard and two buttons.

One button that says Sunrise, and one that says Sunset.

When I push the sunrise button, the sun needs to rise above the house and stay there.  When I push the Sunset button, it needs to set- and then a ufo needs to land on the lawn.

So i think I have a pretty good grasp on the assignment, but the actionscript is throwing me off.  How can I make buttons that will control the sun movie clip to rise- stay above the house, and then set?  The ufo is a whole new matter.   The sunset button should make the sun lower and then a ufo land on the lawn.

Please help explain/link me to the proper tutorials.   One thing that i'm worried about is that the sun will rise- and then stay above the house even if i click the sunset button.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

• 2. Re: Help with assignment- buttons that control movie clips
          dneck184 Level 1

Sorry to bump- but Please help me if you can!

I want my movie clip of the sun to come in with a button and sit above the house- and then when I click the sunset button I want it to move down to the other bottom corner of the screen

• 3. Re: Help with assignment- buttons that control movie clips
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You should talk to your professor or classmates regarding what you should already know from your lessons that would enable you to do these tasks.  The risk you run in seeking help like this is getting a solution that your professor would never expect you to have knowledge of, one that you could never explain how it works.... which can be detrimental to your professor's rating of you.

• 4. Re: Help with assignment- buttons that control movie clips