10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2010 5:30 PM by Vit Novak

ACR profile difference for Canon 7D vs. 5D2

redcrown on guard Level 1

I've been using a 5D2 for 18 months now, and a 1Ds for years before that, and I've learned what to expect from the different Adobe profiles in ACR.

Now I'm helping a guy who has a 7D. When processing the 7D raw files in ACR 6, one of the things I noticed was that the canned profiles for the 7D behave opposite from the 5D2 and 1Ds.

For example, on the 5D2 and 1Ds, the Camera Faithful profile always lowers the overall brightness of the image (compared to the default Adobe Standard profile). Almost a full stop, mostly in the highlights. Color rendition is different too, of course, but the brightness difference is most noticable. I sometimes find Camera Faithful useful for taming highlights.

But on the 7D, the Camera Faithful profile increases brightness. Mostly in the shadows and midtones. Kind of like adding fill light. The highlights are left unchanged. All the other "Camera" profiles for the 7D also increase brightness over the Adobe Standard profile.

I've made many custom profiles for the 5d2 and 1ds using the color checker and DNG profile editor. They show only minor differences from the Adobe Standard, and then only in heavily saturated colors. They show almost no difference in brightness.

So I'm just curious. Why would the Adobe supplied profiles vary so much for different camera models. I understand each model is different, and thus profiles are different. But I would expect the "delta" from the Adobe Standard profile to be roughly the same across models.

• 1. Re: ACR profile difference for Canon 7D vs. 5D2
          dorin_nicolaescu Level 5

So I'm just curious. Why would the Adobe supplied profiles vary so much for different camera models. I understand each model is different, and thus profiles are different. But I would expect the "delta" from the Adobe Standard profile to be roughly the same across models.