15 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2010 7:59 AM by jfb00

Flex to SQL server

Enigma006

Hai

I am very new to Flex.

I am trying to connect Flex to remote SQL server database.

I have seen few blogs but getting confused.

Can someone post an example to connect to remote SQL server database, get the data to xml and populate datagrid/list from it.

I am using Flex 4.

Thanks a lot..

• 1. Re: Flex to SQL server
          Claudiu Ursica Level 4

You want to connect directly ot the SQL? I know it is possible with Oracle, not sure about other vendors. Howeveer you normally Connect a middle tier app php/java/.net.. to the db and Flex talks to the middle tier not directly to the db.

HTH,

Claudiu

• 2. Re: Flex to SQL server
            Enigma006 Level 1

Ok. I know Flex cannot directly connect to database.

How to do using PHP? can you post any example you have.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Flex to SQL server
              jfb00 Level 3

Hi,

The way that I connect to any database from flex is using coldfusion.

http://learn.adobe.com/wiki/display/Flex/Flex+and+ColdFusion

Rgds

Johnny

Please rate my answwer

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Flex to SQL server
                flexillu10 Level 1

i am also trying to do a similar thing but to mySql.

I'm using flash builder connect to data/service wizard but it asks me for a web root and root url of my server, when i type them in it says it can't find the web root. Does the server have to be local? becuase mine is not on my local pc

• 5. Re: Flex to SQL server
                  Enigma006 Level 1

I have only flash builder. Do I need to download any other software.

Please specify in detail if possible.

Thanks a lot.

• 6. Re: Flex to SQL server
                    Claudiu Ursica Level 4

http://corlan.org/2008/10/10/flex-and-php-remoting-with-amfphp/

This explains it thorough.