9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2010 5:29 AM by Steve Grisetti

Newbie needs help: transferring from external hard drive

pdxmaven2

So, I am a total beginner here, and  need your help to get going.

I just installed Adobe Premiere Elements 8 on my computer.

And several weeks ago, I had someone transfer all my old home movies onto an external hard drive (a Lacie d2 quadra).

Can someone walk me through the steps to get the files from the external hard drive into Premiere so I can begin working with them.

I have a Dell Inspiron 537S and am running Windows Vista Home Premium.

thanks in advance for your help.

PS I would have searched the forum for an answer to this question but I did not see a place to enter a question to "search" the forum.

• 1. Re: Newbie needs help: transferring from external hard drive
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What file format are your videos in? It's very important that you have the program's project set up to match these files and, in some cases, it may be necessary to convert these files to a format Premiere Elements can work with.

That said, how you work with them at this point depends on whether you want to use this external drive as a second hard drive or not. (If you're using a laptop, this might be a good idea, since laptops rarely have the hundreds of gigabytes of free space video editing usually requires. But in order to do this, it's very important that the drive be formatted NTFS rather than FAT32, as drives are from the factory.)

1) If you're going to edit off the hard drive, connect it to your laptop and create a new Premiere Elements in a new folder on your drive. (Again, this project MUST be set up to match the video file format you're editing!) Then you just go to the Organize tab and select Get Media/From Files and Folders and browse to the video files. They will be added to your Project panel, from which you can draw then to create your movie.