4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 28, 2010 9:55 AM by Rich BioDude RSS

IMAGE FOLDER NOT INSIDE THE SITE

Rich BioDude

Hello, I am just starting to learn how to use Dreamweaver and the tutorial they have is related to Old NextBest Fest to learn how to create a web. I am getting the error message of, "THE IMAGE FOLDER NOT INSIDE THE SITE" The help menu does not help, any suggestions? I know once I get an answer, I know what to do next time [and hopefully avoid it as well]. thanks richard

• 1. Re: IMAGE FOLDER NOT INSIDE THE SITE
          Brad Lawryk ACP/MVP

The message means pretty much exactly as it says .... you have an images folder but it isn't with in the site you set up in your site definitions. When you first create a site you need to set up your site definitions pointing to where the root folder of your website is. Your images folder and all other files need to be within the root folder .... anything outside that root folder will give you that warning and will not work when uploaded to the server.

Google 'How do I set up site definitions in Dreamweaver' if you are having issues with how to set up your site definitions properly. You also didn't let us know what version you are using. The site definition setup changed drastically in CS5 from earlier versions.

So in short I guess ... make sure your site definition is set up properly and your images folder is within that root folder.

Brad Lawryk

Adobe Community Professional: Dreamweaver

Northern British Columbia Adobe Usergroup: Manager

Thompson Rivers University: Dreamweaver Instructor

My Adobe Blog: http://blog.lawryk.com

• 2. Re: IMAGE FOLDER NOT INSIDE THE SITE
            Rich BioDude Community Member

Thanks for the reply. I just bought Dreamweaver CS5, so it is the version 11.0 Build 4909.