21 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2015 3:51 AM by Amber Martinell

Mac 10.6.4 and CS5 - known problems? VERY slow, long freezes

TheGrandNabib Level 1

I am on a brand new 12-core (dual 6-core 2.66GHz) Mac Pro with 16GB of RAM (and of course running 10.6.4). I have a new install of CS5 Master Suite (trial version, our box has not arrived yet), and primarily in my explorations with After Effects, it is running PAINFULLY slowly, mostly around simple interface stuff like scrubbing the timeline.

But this was also very apparent during rendering - a project that took about 20 minutes on my old 32-bit Core 2 Duo Dell with 4GB of RAM and CS4 took about 14 minutes on this new one under CS5 (running with 4 cores each using 2GB of RAM, and plenty of cores and RAM left over for other system stuff)... but I could see that a lot of that was due to HUGE delays in processing time as it rendered, long swaths of spinning beach-ball time. Had it not been for those, it likely would have rendered in about 2-3 minutes (as I would expect).

I have installed all available system and Adobe updates as of today (9/28/10), I am now running the updated AE 10.0.1... and I am having the same issues, with AE running very, very slowly. Scrubbing a project is nearly impossible - it regularly sends the system right to the beach-ball for many seconds; opening one project, which took 7-15 seconds on the Windows side (an old 32-bit Core 2 Duo Dell with 4GB Ram and CS4), takes up to 4:30 on the Mac under CS5! Same project, hierarchy, footage, etc.