7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2010 4:46 PM by Stan Jones

Dynamic Link Vs. File->Export->Media

Tminus10web Level 2

I'm probably about to open a can of worms, but could ya'll take a minute and debate the pros and cons of Dynamic Link vs Exporting?  As far as I can tell, exporting triples or quadruples the time involved and I need to produce quick results. 

And as I am completely new to the Creative Suite and video editing in general, I struggle with the power and depth of the Export options.

Under which scenarios would you choose to export with AME when you can twice as easily import Premiere Sequences as Encore Timelines?

thx in advance

• 1. Re: Dynamic Link Vs. File->Export->Media
          shooternz Level 6

Because not everything gets exported to DVD

You dont export to Encore unless you are making a DVD from your PPRO Project

• 2. Re: Dynamic Link Vs. File->Export->Media
            Tminus10web Level 2

If I want to make a DVD, what are the inherent advantages and disadvantages of

a) exporting from premiere to some intermediate filetype, then importing into Encore

vs

b) importing a sequence straight out of a premiere project into Encore

• 3. Re: Dynamic Link Vs. File->Export->Media
              shooternz Level 6

Exporting a MPEG2-DVD  intermediate file means you can check it before you burn a DVD with it (and find there is an edit or encode problem).

It gives you a Master file should you need to take it somewhere else to burn it.

Handy  and quick if you have a Stock Encore Project set up to just drop the MPEG into ( like I do)

otherwise... not much advantage or disadvantage IMHO

• 4. Re: Dynamic Link Vs. File->Export->Media
                TradeWind Level 3

A nice advantage to Dynamic Link is that you can import your assets into Encore and manage the transcode settings there to maximize quality with the given disc space.