6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2010 2:16 PM by MP5434

Video Filter missing: AE.keylight 906?

MP5434

Hi,

I am a complete noob when it comes to editing video in Adobe. I've been looking for a solution to my problem in other places, but my attempts were futile.

Here's what I did:

I edited a video clip in Adobe After Effects, dealt with the green screen using Keylight, then exported my work as an Adobe Premiere Pro Project. Once that was done, I tried opening the project in Premiere and a window popped up saying "Video Filter missing: AE.keylight 906." I clicked OK and found that Premiere does not show my edited green screen. It merely shows the original - I think I'm right in saying that is because the video filter is missing, as the message stated. How do I fix this? Help please!

Thank you for your time.

MP

• 1. Re: Video Filter missing: AE.keylight 906?
          Colin Brougham Level 6

Keylight is an After Effects only filter/effect/plugin, and therefore will not make the trip from AE to Premiere in the way you are working. Either render a finished movie from After Effects, or if you have Dynamic Link (either Production Premium or the Master Collection is required for this), just drag the AE comp from AE into Premiere; the effect will be preserved then.

You could also explore the Ultra key effect in Premiere; it's a basic but rather effective chromakey plugin included with CS5. Your workflow is a little backward, too; usually, you'd start by editing in Premiere, move to AE for effects work, and then either render out from AE to your final file, or render to something for Premiere. Any particular reason you're working in the manner you are?

• 2. Re: Video Filter missing: AE.keylight 906?
            MP5434 Level 1