3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 20, 2007 2:17 PM by Newsgroup_User

Flash Debug Player Issues

gmitchell7
      Hi,

I am fairly new to Adobe Flash although I do have an extensive background in software and database design. I have recently started to learn and use ActionScript (working with version 2.0 not 3.0 yet) and have just become aware of the use of the Flash Debug Player. It is an indispensable tool in my view. However, I do have one problem with it which may be the result of a lack of knowledge. I recently ran it with a fairly extensive and complex Flash movie. The movie was developed by a very accomplished graphics guy who knows a great deal about the graphics aspects of Flash but doesn’t get into ActionScript much. Also parts of this movie are purchased components. I got a lot of warnings that perplex me. Things like “addEventListener is not a function” and “broadcastMessage” is not a function. When I open the fla file in the Flash IDE and search for these I find nothing. Furthermore these appear to be Adobe Flash supplied functions and are documented in the Flash help system. What is going on here?

Any help understanding this issue would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
      G. M.
        • 1. Re: Flash Debug Player Issues
          Level 7
          Hi gmitchell7,

Flash is a tricky beast when it comes to nested code. With Flash CS 3
          (ActionScript 3.0), typically these instructions would be found in
          external AS files. This would be the first place to look for both Flash
          8 and Flash CS 3 source code. Great programs like FlashDevelop or SEPY
          allow you to recursively search through subdirectories for occurances of
          these strings. Just point them at the root directory and let them go.

Also, within Flash, things can be hidden on library items and in a
          variety of places that are not visible on the main timeline. Select
          "Edit->Find and Replace" and search for the text in the current