6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2007 3:19 PM by

Need help with Flash Buttons

radu.miron
      Hello !

i'm new to Flash, and have to make a small application in Flash, so I could put it on a site. Tried to modify a .fla i had, so that when i click on a button, another web page should open, at a specific address. I saw that there is a function "getURL(URL,window_type,method)"- as i remember, and it works - if i run the flash file from Macromedia Flash it opens a new page in my browser, BUT....if i put the .swf file in an html page, and open that html page in my browser, and push the buttons in the .swf, I get a security warning, stating that "...the application is trying to connect to the remote location "the_URL_from_getURL()" ..." , and on that security warning window i have 2 buttons: OK and Settings. If i press OK, nothing happens, and if i press Settings, a page from Adobe opens, where I can set my security level. Now, even if i select "Allow all", the next time when i open my html page, and try to push the buttons in the flash animation, i still get the same security warning.

Now my question is, is there any solution i could try to solve that security warning not to appear every time? , and i saw a lot of flash based sites that had buttons and stuff, and no security warning appearead when i pushed those buttons...a i doing something wrong? :|.
      Sorry for the noobish questions, but if anyone could give me a hand, it'll be awesome!

Cheers,
      Radu
        • 1. Re: Need help with Flash Buttons
          radu.miron Level 1
          people....please help!!! i beg you...i really need this to get done :(
          • 2. Re: Need help with Flash Buttons
            sbv31
            Hi!

Don't know if that will help you...???

Create a button with an actionscript
            btn_inv.onRelease = function(){
            getURL("TYPE_YOUR_URL");
            };