7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2010 5:02 PM by mdmave

CrossFading SerialElement?

mdmave Level 1

Hi, I am somewhat new to OSMF, so forgive me if this has been answered already.

I am trying to crossfade some images with the latest sprint of OSMF.

I am using the SerialElement's CURRENT_CHILD_CHANGE event, but running into some issues.

In the event handler I would like to fade between the previously showing element and the new element. These eventually may be videos but for now I am only using Images. I am creating DurationElement instances from the ImageElements and adding them to the SerialElement before setting the mediaPlayer instance's media property.

Here is the code so far: http://pastie.org/1192248

The commented out code:

// xFade.bitmapFrom = ImageSnapshot.captureBitmapData(_mediaPlayer.displayObject);

// xFade.bitmapTo = ImageSnapshot.captureBitmapData(DisplayObjectTrait(event.currentChild.getTrait(MediaTrait Type.DISPLAY_OBJECT)).displayObject);

// xFade.play([_mediaPlayer.displayObject]);

is what I wanted to do for the transition. What I am seeing though is just popping from one element to the other. I think the _mediaPlayer.displayObject is not what I think it is. Please help!

• 1. Re: CrossFading SerialElement?
          bringrags Level 4

MediaPlayer.displayObject maps to the DisplayObject of the MediaElement that's assigned to the MediaPlayer, which in this case is the SerialElement.  A SerialElement's DisplayObject is not the DisplayObject of the current child.  Rather, it's a container class which the current child's DisplayObject is placed within (this allows us to apply layout metadata consistently within a SerialElement, by assigning it to the container rather than to the child, which often changes).  You're probably better off targeting the DisplayObject of each child MediaElement, e.g.:

var displayObjectTrait:DisplayObjectTrait = imageElement.getTrait(MediaTraitType.DISPLAY_OBJECT) as DisplayObjectTrait;