32 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2010 9:19 PM by Ed.Macke

Real Time Field Test of PRE 9 - Results DISASTEROUS!

pauleveritt

I have been using both CS2 (for SD work) about 4 years and CS4 (for HD work) for 1 year.  I have not used Elements before.

I took Premiere Elements out to a live event to test it.  The results were DISASTEROUS!  DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!

Be warned.  The Premiere Elements watermarks all graphics and titles and the like.  The web site does not tell you this.  I would have purchased the product for this test had I known about the water marking.

Equipment:

Dell Studio 15, i3 processor, 4GB of RAM, 500 GB 7200 RPM SATA drive running Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 bit.  This is a purpose purchased laptop that is about two weeks old.  JVC miniDV deck connected to the firewire port of the Studio 15 through an ADS A/D converter to capture miniDV tapes.  I know this set up is completely reliable as I use it on my CS2 Premiere desktop at home.

Test:

Capture seven minutes of video, add opening graphics, closing graphics, burn to a DVD.

Test results:

PRE 9 would sometimes failed to recognise my miniDV deck.  I was able to capture about 14 minutes of video without a problem.  As the tape continued to capture, a frame was dropped and the captured stopped.  The "stop capture on dropped frame" box WAS NOT CHECKED!!!!!  This ended the effort to capture additional footage onsite.  I experienced several lock ups.  Any attempt to add my graphic resulted in the water marking issue noted above.  I was able to burn DVDs reliably and they tested good.

Keep in mind that ANY edits, graphics, transitions, etc add watermarking to your project.  Also keep in mind that you can not get a refund on software purchases!  Keep in mind that Elements packages have been notorious for additional bugs beyond the normal bugs usually found in Adobe products.