16 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2010 8:57 PM by markf12

Master Page help

markf12 Level 1

I am new to Firworks but hope to get it sorted out.

I created a multi layered website mockup in photoshop cs4. By turning on and off layers I can show the state of the nav system and resulting page layouts. I want to use Fireworks to turn this into an interactive website mockup with rollover and click through and etc behavour.

I have imported this .psd file into FW CS4. Then I set only the common layers like logo, header background, basic nav elements, etc to be turned on, hide the other layers and then designate that as a Master Page. So far so good.

I then create a new page called Home and it is automaticaly linked to the Master Page (minor confusion: even though the link icon to the left of the page is not active?)

Now I want to turn on some layers to show the Home Page nav in it's selected state and show some content specific to the Home Page. I can't seem to figure out how to get those layers (that I've already created) copied from the master page to the new Home Page so I can show them.

Perhaps I should be making use of layer states for this?

I hope this makes sense. I've read all of the help and etc I could find but I seem to be stuck here.

TIA for any help!

• 1. Re: Master Page help
          Jim_Babbage Level 4

All new pages are automatically linked to the contents of the Master Page. The "link" icon does two things: It forces the page to the same dimensions *** the Master Page and same Canvas color.

The Master page should only contain objects which will be visible on all pages, all the time. If you want to share certain layers to certain pages, then you should  choose the option to share layers to pages. This gives you more selective control than the Master page. If you choose this option, the layers will need to be on a page other than the master page.

Sharing the file would also be helpful.

Jim Babbage

1 person found this helpful