9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2010 4:14 AM by Peter Kahrel

Applescript vs Javascript

hovercraft2x

Hi There,

I'm a developer totally new to using inDesign.  I'm looking to do a mail merge type operation to a document created in InDesign.  Basically I want to take a report and populate the datapoints in it programmatically drawing the data from some data source, either a database, excel sheet or whatever.  If possible i'd also like to dynamically populate the values in a few bar graphs and pie charts. 

What would the better tool be for this?

Thanks,

• 1. Re: Applescript vs Javascript
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant
          What would the better tool be for this?

Excel? Access?

Filling in data into an existing template is easy, but InDesign doesn't natively "do" bar and piece charts. You'd have to draw these (using a script) from scratch, using basic drawing operations. (That rules out "dynamically", I guess.)

It honestly sounds like InDesign is not the proper tool for you.

• 2. Re: Applescript vs Javascript
            Kasyan Servetsky Level 5

I think AS is a better choice for you since you are going to interact with other applications.

JS provides ability to interact only with some adobe apps: photoshop, illustrator, bridge, etc. -- but not with such programs as Excel, Filemaker, Mail etc. But you may read a text files exported from them -- for example in CVS format -- to get data. Or, another approach is to 'mix' both scripting languages: write part of the script for InDesign in JS and part of the code for, let's say Mail, in AS. Then you can trigger the AS script from JS script using doScript method. I used this approach several times in my scripts and it works well.

Kasyan

• 3. Re: Applescript vs Javascript
              hovercraft2x Level 1