2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2007 1:30 PM by Munka

Offline User Form

Munka
      Greetings flex community,

I've been tasked with designing a user form that will be filled out offline (no net connection, no webserver, etc..) This form is for signing up for an e-newsletter. I desided to use Flex for this, however I've run into a bit of an issue. My goal is to have the form fields saved locally to an .xml file (<mx:Model source="enewsletter.xml" id="XMLFILE"/>). I've searched the forums and am lead to believe this may not be possible? Are there some imports that can be added to the <mx:Script></mx:Script> to allow this functionality?

I'm fairly new to flex so forgive the noob'ness :) Here's the code I have so far, any corrections are also welcome and suggestions. Thanks in advance!

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute">
      <mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      ]]>
      </mx:Script>
      <mx:Style source="theme.css"/>
      <mx:Model source="enewsletter.xml" id="XMLFILE"/>
      <mx:Panel width="640" height="480" layout="absolute" verticalCenter="-31" horizontalCenter="-1" id="ui_main" title="Sign Up for our E-Newsletter!" horizontalAlign="center" verticalAlign="middle" fontWeight="bold" backgroundAlpha="1.0" alpha="1.0" fontFamily="Arial" fontSize="12">

<mx:Label x="33" y="196" text="Zipcode:" width="69"/>
      <mx:TextInput x="110" y="194" borderStyle="inset" borderColor="#000000" enabled="true" id="ZIP"/>

<mx:Label x="33" y="313" text="Phone:" width="69"/>
      <mx:TextInput x="110" y="311" borderStyle="inset" borderColor="#000000" enabled="true" id="PHONENUM"/>

<mx:Label x="35" y="373" text="E-Mail:" width="44"/>
      <mx:TextInput x="110" y="371" borderStyle="inset" borderColor="#000000" enabled="true" id="EMAIL"/>

<mx:Label x="278" y="13" text="Last Name:" width="69"/>