6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 12, 2010 11:18 AM by lmk1553

Global variables on server

lmk1553

I have a pdf with scripts accessing persistent global variable. To this point, the file has only been required on stand-alone Windows PCs. I have been tasked to install the file on a networked system. Adobe Reader is installed at the user level. My pdf file can be installed at either the user level or at the server level. The global variables, however, need to be at the server level so that all users access the same isntance of the variables. I am assuming that the glob.js file has to be located on the server.

Can someone guide me? Specifically, how do I cause the glob.js file to be created at the server level (as opposed to the user level), and how do I cause the user level Readers to look for glob.js on the server?

Or is there a different, preferred approach? I'm sure you've heard this before -- I'm new to this.

I would just try installing, but the networked system is located several hours drive from me and I would like to be somewhat prepared before I make the trip.

Thanks for any guidance.

• 1. Re: Global variables on server
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

There is no provision for doing what you want with glob.js, but there are other approaches you can consider. If you give more background about how you're using the global variables, it may help focus our recommendations. The more details the better.

• 2. Re: Global variables on server
            lmk1553 Level 1

Thanks for the quick reply.

The objective of the global variables is to count and restrict the number of

times various pages within the file are printed. Each page of the file is

associated with two global persistent variables -- a print counter and a

print max. Once the counter reaches the max, printing is denied.

Works ok for a single user -- not great, but its functional.

Need a network solution so that all users can draw upon the allowable prints