16 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2010 7:16 PM by the_wine_snob

Help me with picture quality for slideshow.

Snowblizard

Hi I'm David and I'm new to adobe elements and video editing and am trying the elements 9 trial.

I'm trying to learn the software and thought i'd start witha a slideshow vid with some holiday pics.

My first and biggest issue i've come across is the pictures quality is really lousy when i have added them to the video. even thought they are fairly fine 8 mp jpg pictures from my digital camera and looks nice when wieving them outside of elements. Why and how do i solve this?

Also i wonder if there is a way to preview the pictures in big size before ading them to the timeline?

Can i change the time lenght shown for many pictures at the same time instead of changing them one at a time?

Will really apreciate help on this matter.

Thx!

• 1. Re: Help me with picture quality for slideshow.
          the_wine_snob Level 9

David,

Welcome to the forum.

First, one is much better off by Scaling their still images outside of PrE. This ARTICLE will give some background and some tips.

Also, having the proper Project Preset will go a very long way to getting the best results. For example, one would normally match that Project Preset (at New Project) to their source footage. With stills, it's kind of the other way around, so long as there is no Video involved. One would decide on the output format, say an HD Project, to go to BD (Blu-ray Disc), and set that up. Then, they would Scale their stills to match the specs. of that Project, prior to Importing them into the Project. The less Scaling done in PrE, the better the results will be.

Good luck, and hope that helps,

Hunt

PS - remember that all Projects in the trial will have a watermark. I do not want you to be surprised.

• 2. Re: Help me with picture quality for slideshow.
            Snowblizard Level 1

Hi Bill thx for your reply.