4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2010 1:46 PM by LancFM104

Confused about conflicting disk guidelines

LancFM104

This is my first time on the forum and I am learning a tremendous amount - thanks everyone.  I am planning a machine with 3 disks and I'm a little confused about apparently conflicting guidellines issued by Harm.  In the "Storage rules for an editing rig", he states in Rule 4 that "If you have OS & programs on disk C:, set your pagefile on another disk".  However, in the "Guidelines  for disk disk storage", he says that, for 3 disks, that the OS, programs and pagefile should be on drive C:    Which is right?  Thanks

• 1. Re: Confused about conflicting disk guidelines
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I certainly don't know about "right" but what I do is...

1 - Win7 and all programs

2 - Win7 page file and projects

3 - All video files... input and output

I edit AVCHD and this works for me

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Confused about conflicting disk guidelines
            Harm Millaard Level 7

You may be somewhat confused, as it appears to be contradictory, but let me try to explain.

The basic rule for a fast disk system is to spread the load across as many disks as you have.

Every disk can access only one location at a time, and if a program requires access to a number of files, it would be great to have all those files on different disks, because then all these files can be accessed in parallel, making it much faster than in a serial way. There are however practical limitations to doing it that way. It does not make sense to organize the location of your clips in such a way that all these clips are on different disks, your potential gains would be far outweighed by the effort to move your clips to different disks. It does not even make sense to allocate a different disk for different tracks, although from a disk performance view it may make a lot of sense.