8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2010 11:01 AM by Steve Grisetti

New Flip minoHD camera at 60fps. Will PE9 preset work?

royandkris

Flip has recently introduced their new mino HD video camera that has a frame rate of 60fps. The new PE9 has a preset for the Flip minoHD, however this preset is set at 30fps. Will the PE9 preset work with this camera? Are there any special editing issues with video at 60fps that I should know about? If I keep the output resolution to 1280x720 will that help in rendering speed? (Does PE9 support "smart" rendering?). I'm new to video editing so I hope these questions make some sense.

• 1. Re: New Flip minoHD camera at 60fps. Will PE9 preset work?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Well, this is for an older version, but it says to use the XDCAM settings

Flip or GoPro video http://forums.adobe.com/thread/437535?tstart=0
          - And http://forums.adobe.com/thread/668369?tstart=0
          - And http://blogs.adobe.com/VideoRoad/2009/12/using_a_flip_minohd_camera_wit.html
          - Says to use the XDCAM EX 720p 30p (or 60p?) setting

• 2. Re: New Flip minoHD camera at 60fps. Will PE9 preset work?
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

I'm not quite sure of Flip's strategy, going to 60 fps. It's not like the human eye can see the difference between 30 and 60 fps. So it would seem to my limited understanding that you're just creating  a lot of extra video frames!

Oh well.

Many camcorders use 60i. This is technically not 60 fps, but it's really just 30 integrated frames (each frame composed of two interlaced frames). But this is based on the old TV standard, back when ALL TV video was composed of integrated frames.

The Flip, though, seems to spec out with 60 progressive frames -- or 60 genuine frames per second. Hmm.

Anyway, I'd assume you can use it with one of the existing Flip presets. But I'd sure like to hear the definitive answer for my own personal reference.